About us

Executive and stewards

Executive Board 

Heather Skarbo, President

Joan Wallin, Vice President

Kelcie Zimmerman, Recording Secretary

Drena Anderson, Chief Shop Steward

Karley Pii, Secretary-Treasurer

Leslie Lloyd, Membership Officer

At any time, if you have information regarding a member who may have celebrated a marriage or birth or experienced a loss – please contact Leslie Lloyd, our Good of the Union Rep! 



Bus Drivers – Tammy Cox, 250-364-3801, tammycupe1285@gmail.com

Clerical – currently looking for clerical shop steward

Custodian – currently looking for custodial shop steward

Inclusion Support Employees – currently looking for ISE shop steward

Indigenous Support Worker – Kim Robertson, 250-608-0144, morning-glory@live.ca 

Trades & IT currently looking for Trades & IT shop steward


Health and Safety Committee – Drena Anderson, Heather Skarbo, Kim Robertson

Shop Steward Committee – Drena Anderson, Kelcie Zimmerman, Kim Roberston, Tammy Cox

Bargaining Committee – Nominated and elected during 2021 November AGM!
The Bargaining Committee consists of 3 executive board members, and 3 from the membership.
Please welcome Heidi Mann and Joan Wallin!
Off the executive board:
Heather Skarbo, President
Kelcie Zimmerman, Recording Secretary
Drena Anderson, Chief Shop Steward

West Kootenay Labour Council Rep – Joan Wallin and Stephanie Harmston

Local District & Union Committees 
District Joint Occupational Health and Safety Committee (DJOHS)
Labour Management Committee
Enhanced Student Learning Committee Rep – TBA
Joint Job Evaluation Committee (JJEC)
Joint Early Intervention Services Committee (JEIS)
Professional Development Committee Rep – Jodi Tache  (PRO-D)

What we do

CUPE 1285 represents support staff at all School District 20 sites over several classifications, including:

  • Bus Drivers
  • Clerical Workers
  • Custodial Staff
  • Direct Student Support and Aboriginal Education Workers
  • Information Technology Staff
  • Trades Workers

School District 20 sites include:

  • Castlegar Maintenance Office
  • Fruitvale Elementary School
  • Glenmerry Elementary School
  • J. Lloyd Crowe Secondary School
  • James L. Webster Elementary School
  • Kinnaird Elementary School
  • Kootenay Columbia Learning Centre (Castlegar and Trail)
  • Robson Community School
  • Rossland Summit School
  • School Board Office
  • Stanley Humphries Secondary School
  • Twin Rivers Elementary School (Intermediate and Primary Campuses)
  • Waneta Bus Garage

Equality statement

Union solidarity is based on the principle that union members are equal and deserve mutual respect at all levels. Any behaviour that creates conflict prevents us from working together to strengthen our union.

As unionists, mutual respect, cooperation and understanding are our goals. We should neither condone nor tolerate behaviour that undermines the dignity or self-esteem of any individual or creates an intimidating, hostile or offensive environment.

Discriminatory speech or conduct which is racist, sexist, transphobic or homophobic hurts and thereby divides us. So too, does discrimination on the basis of ability, age, class, religion, language and ethnic origin.

Sometimes discrimination takes the form of harassment. Harassment means using real or perceived power to abuse, devalue or humiliate. Harassment should not be treated as a joke. The uneasiness and resentment that it creates are not feelings that help us grow as a union.

Discrimination and harassment focus on characteristics that make us different; and they reduce our capacity to work together on shared concerns such as decent wages, safe working conditions, and justice in the workplace, society and in our union.

CUPE’s policies and practices must reflect our commitment to equality. Members, staff and elected officers must be mindful that all persons deserve dignity, equality and respect.